Page 1 of 1

Error trying to bind some keys on an AZERTY keyboard

Posted: Sun Feb 08, 2015 10:54 pm UTC
by Tom

Hello,

Here's my problem, I'm using an AZERTY keyboard on Kubuntu 14.10 with french translation and most of my binds are working except ones related to the i[/i], i[/i] and i[/i] keys in the image below. When I press them nothing happen and when I press them while chatting I got the following error messages in daemon.log:

Code: Select all

^3Warning: ^7Rocket_FromQuake: Could not find keynum 34
^3Warning: ^7Rocket_FromQuake: Could not find keynum 40
^3Warning: ^7Rocket_FromQuake: Could not find keynum 95

and the letters don't print in the chat.

My binds in autoexec.cfg are:

Code: Select all

[...]
teambind aliens & class level1
teambind aliens é class level1upg
teambind aliens " class level2
teambind aliens ' class level2upg
teambind aliens ( class level3
teambind aliens - class level3upg
teambind aliens è class level4
[...]
teambind humans & "sell weapons;buy +psaw;buy +rifle"
teambind humans é "sell weapons;buy +shotgun;buy +rifle"
teambind humans " "sell weapons;buy +lgun;buy +rifle"
teambind humans ' "sell weapons;buy +mdriver;buy +rifle"
teambind humans ( "sell weapons;buy +chaingun;buy +rifle"
teambind humans - "sell weapons;buy +flamer;buy +rifle"
teambind humans è "sell weapons;buy +prifle;buy +rifle"
teambind humans _ "sell weapons;buy +lcannon;buy +rifle"
[...]

Image

Help me grangers! :granger:

Thank you in advance.


Re: Error trying to bind some keys on an AZERTY keyboard

Posted: Mon Feb 09, 2015 3:07 pm UTC
by peace

I can't test this right now, but it's possible you need to escape some or all of those with a \ before the character being bound like this:

Code: Select all

teambind aliens \" class level2

I didn't check daemon.log but I had a similar problem with a bind on \ not working correctly before I escaped it by using \\ instead.


Re: Error trying to bind some keys on an AZERTY keyboard

Posted: Mon Feb 09, 2015 10:33 pm UTC
by illwieckz

Yes, I confirm, non-ASCII characters don't work at all as bind key or in chat (but works in console, and if you activate debug, there is keypress debug message only for non-ASCII character while you are typing), this is broken since many months (year?).

It's just yet another issue I have in my TOREPORT list! :tongue:


Re: Error trying to bind some keys on an AZERTY keyboard

Posted: Sat Feb 14, 2015 1:04 am UTC
by Tom

Thank you guys. Peace, I tried escaping the characters but it didn't worked unfortunately. :frown: Illwieckz, OK :wink:, do you want to report the issue or do you prefer me to do it?


Re: Error trying to bind some keys on an AZERTY keyboard

Posted: Sat Feb 14, 2015 4:34 am UTC
by illwieckz

Yes, since there is no keypress debug messages, I think it's not an autoexec.cfg issue, since Unvanquished seems to not know the key is pressed.

Perhaps the bug comes with the SDL2 port but I don't know exactly when. In the past Unvanquished was able to bind some strange keys (with a better support than tremulous and other idtech3 derivatives), but now it's worse.

I can write the bug report if you want, but if you create it I will comment it for sure. :tongue:


Re: Error trying to bind some keys on an AZERTY keyboard

Posted: Sat Feb 14, 2015 7:41 pm UTC
by Tom